Pay to get bugfixes ?

Yes, you’ve heard it : now you have to pay to get bugfixes… What I’m talking about ? Not Mandriva, of course, nor even linux ! I’m talking about Award, AMI and Phoenix, famous BIOS makers.
Most people know BIOS are generally buggy crappy pieces of code (even if I admit the job isn’t easy given space constrainst). So like in any piece of software, there are bugs.
If you seek help to update your BIOS, MOST pages on the internet will lead you to this page (who talked about google poisonning ?). Look at those smiling people on the upper right hand corner of the homepage : they’re all happy to have paid approx. 30$ to get a BIOS with less bugs and be able to run their shiny brand new version of MS Vista (why do people love to install crappy softs ? is it some kind of masochism for geeks ?)…
If you don’t believe it, you’ll probably end up like me : on google desperately seeking for free BIOS updates and reading this ton of posts from people selling BIOS updates themselves (they’ve bought it from the previously mentionned website…) I’m pretty sure people will start selling their second-hand BIOS updates on ebay sooner or later.
I was about to install linuxbios but remembered the computer I just wanted to upgrade was my girfriend’s and I wasn’t 100% sure about what problems I could have run into…
Finally, after googling around, I found some support from the motheboard vendor, but it was already late and I abandonned my quest for the bugfree BIOS. I’ll do it when I’ve more free time.

5 Responses to “Pay to get bugfixes ?”

  1. drakedalfa Says:

    Wow, Shame on them

  2. Eon Says:

    Moi aussi ça me turlupine cette histoire d’openbios, surtout pour la vitesse de boot. Mais j’ai pas tout compris comment ils font leur mesure de temps de démarrage. Tu penses que c’est vraiment plus rapide de booter une Mandriva sur un openBios?

  3. yoho Says:

    @drakedalfa : I was really amazed of what I found… A few years back, BIOS was upgradeable like any driver, free of charge (and it’s normal : it’s just bugfixing…)
    @eon : Je pense que oui, mais je pense aussi que c’est prendre pas mal de risques… si le flash ne marche pas, tu es bon pour ne plus avoir de moyen de retour, ni de moyen de faire jouer la garantie constructeur…

  4. Eon Says:

    @yoho: J’attendrais le linuxBios d’origine ou la carte mère à double mémoire flash


Leave a Reply

